The Hall of Fame Ballot, 2013 edition

The Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot has been revealed. Who do you think should make the Hall of Fame?

Just take note of one rule. You have a maximum of ten guys you can vote for on this list. The 600+ eligible voters have until December 31 to submit their ballot.

Those who make the 75% cutoff, if there are any, will be revealed on January 9.

Voting shall be based upon the player’s record, playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and contributions to the team(s) on which the player played.

The list of 37 names appear after the jump.

Candidate MLB seasons Yrs on BBWAA ballot
Sandy Alomar Jr. 1988-2007 1st
Jeff Bagwell 1991-2005 3rd
Craig Biggio 1988-2007 1st
Barry Bonds 1986-2007 1st
Jeff Cirillo 1994-2007 1st
Royce Clayton 1991-2007 1st
Roger Clemens 1984-2007 1st
Jeff Conine 1990, 1992-2007 1st
Steve Finley 1989-2007 1st
Julio Franco 1982-94, 1996-97, 1999, 2001-07 1st
Shawn Green 1993-2007 1st
Roberto Hernandez 1991-2007 1st
Ryan Klesko 1992-2007 1st
Kenny Lofton 1991-2007 1st
Edgar Martinez 1987-2004 4th
Don Mattingly 1982-95 13th
Fred McGriff 1986-2004 4th
Mark McGwire 1986-2001 7th
Jose Mesa 1987, 1990-2007 1st
Jack Morris 1977-94 14th
Dale Murphy 1976-93 15th
Rafael Palmeiro 1986-2005 3rd
Mike Piazza 1992-2007 1st
Tim Raines 1979-2002 6th
Reggie Sanders 1991-2007 1st
Curt Schilling 1988-2007 1st
Aaron Sele 1993-2007 1st
Lee Smith 1980-97 11th
Sammy Sosa 1988-2005, 2007 1st
Mike Stanton 1989-2007 1st
Alan Trammell 1977-96 12th
Larry Walker 1989-2005 3rd
Todd Walker 1996-2007 1st
David Wells 1987-2007 1st
Rondell White 1996-2007 1st
Bernie Williams 1991-2006 2nd
Woody Williams 1993-2007 1st
Larry Walker 1989-2005 3rd
Todd Walker 1996-2007 1st
David Wells 1987-2007 1st
Rondell White 1996-2007 1st
Bernie Williams 1991-2006 2nd
Woody Williams 1993-2007 1st

Who should go in? Think about it, while listening to The Script.

  • cbh49er

    How does one even garner consideration? Do you have to play a certain number of years? I know you aren’t eligible until you have been retired for 5 years.

  • cabbage

    Biggest surprise to me is Don Mattingly not getting in. At the time he was playing, you would have thought he would be a lock.

  • knightwhosaysni

    Fred McGriff, Jack Morris, Mark McGwire and Barry Bonds.

  • jpmanahan

    For CBH’s knowledge

    3. Eligible Candidates — Candidates to be eligible must meet the following requirements:

    A. A baseball player must have been active as a player in the Major Leagues at some time during a period beginning twenty (20) years before and ending five (5) years prior to election.

    B. Player must have played in each of ten (10) Major League championship seasons, some part of which must have been within the period described in 3 (A).

    C. Player shall have ceased to be an active player in the Major Leagues at least five (5) calendar years preceding the election but may be otherwise connected with baseball.

    D. In case of the death of an active player or a player who has been retired for less than five (5) full years, a candidate who is otherwise eligible shall be eligible in the next regular election held at least six (6) months after the date of death or after the end of the five (5) year period, whichever occurs first.

    E. Any player on Baseball’s ineligible list shall not be an eligible candidate.

  • cbh49er

    Cool, thanks JP.

  • natsfan74

    Ryan Klesko played for 15 years? Really?

  • starkweather

    The thing that surprises me the most about all those guys is seeing that McGwire quite playing in 2001.

  • Big D


    Eventually, Bonds, Clemens & Piazza. But not this year.